Driving sustainable investment in African Mining

Our 30 Future Leaders

Never before has the next generation of mining professionals been so important. Raised in a world of technology-orientated processes that are constantly changing sees a shift in how they understand their environment and approach solutions. Their fresh mindsets will deliver the positive disruption the mining industry is in need of to remain relevant in a modern world.

Acknowledging the important role our ‘next gen’ will play in the future of the industry, for our 30th anniversary, Mining Indaba has launched its ‘Future Leaders’ initiative in partnership with the University of Cape Town’s LEAD Programme.

Together, we have selected 30 inspirational early career professionals from across the continent, who will attend Mining Indaba and be part of the conversations that are helping shape the industry’s future. Be sure to look out for them across the week’s programmes and functions!

Dineo Sefemo
Geologist and Mineral Accounts Officer (Mineral Economist)
Kitso Phiri
Executive Secretary, Botswana Mine Workers Union
Abdoulaye Kone
Communications Officer: Chamber of Mines
Cote d'Ivoire
Doris Okoli
Communication & Corporate Affairs Coordinator – West Africa, Allied Gold Corporation
Côte d’Ivoire
Mancoba Trevor Tsabedze
Monitoring & Evaluation (M&E) officer and TB in the mining sector (TIMS) coordinator
Prosper Pelo Isanda
Senior Project Officer: International Alert
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Denis Gyeyir
Senior African Programme Officer: National Resources Governance Institute
Jerry Mensah-Pah
Board Chairman: Centre for Social Impact Studies (CeSIS)
Mohamed Sidibe
Director: Guinean Observatory of Mining and Minerals
Grace Akinyi
CEO: Women in Mining (Western Kenya)
Juliah Muriuki
Academic: Department of Mining, Materials and Petroleum, Jomo Kenyatta Uni.
Jefferson Chea
Director: Liberian Geological Survey
Chimwemwe Nelson
Principal Inspector of Mines, Ministry of Mining, Malawi
Helao Shivolo
Senior Geoscientist
Helmi Ipinge
Geologist - Geological Survey of Namibia
Michelle Hailonga
Environmental Geologist: Ministry of Mines and Energy
Abdoul Kader Goube Mairoua
Head of Geological & Mining Research: Ministry of Mines
Edwin Warden
Anglophone Africa Officer: EITI
Norway (Ghanian)
Hannah Pratt
Assistant Mining Engineer: National Minerals Agency
Sierra Leone
Sephela Thema
Operations Manager: Sibanye Stillwater
South Africa
Sizwe Phakathi
Executive Safety - Impala Platinum
South Africa
Mecktilder Mchomvu
Secretary-General of the Tanzania Women in Mining and Mineral Industry (TWIMMI)
Youhanes Magok
Expert on Mineral Resources Development, African Union Commission
South Sudan
Noel Shiyo
Senior Manager – Energy & Natural Resources (East Africa)
Chris Musiime
Programs Director, Africa Centre for Energy and Mineral Policy (ACEMP) 
Susan Nakanwagi
Program Head: Natural Resources Governance and Rights
Lotanna Egwuatu
Supervisor: World Bank
United States (Nigerian)
Augustine Mubanga
Director Operations - Tahila Engineering
Mukupa Nsendukula
Policy Officer – Tax and Natural Resource Governance, Tax Justice Network Africa
Wendy Chipara
Monitoring & Evaluation Officer: Ministry of Mines & Mining Development

Agenda Name, Sessions



### ### ###


Add to calendar ### ### ### ### ### Africa/Johannesburg

No result - please try again.